About Johannesburg

Johannesburg, nicknamed Joburg, Jozi, Egoli (City of Gold), is the largest city in South Africa and the provincial capital of Gauteng (Place of Gold). One of nine provinces, Gauteng’s borders the Free State to the south, North West to the west, Limpopo to the north, and Mpumalanga to the east. Gauteng is the only landlocked province of South Africa without a foreign border.

Although not one of South Africa’s three capital cities – Bloemfontein (judicial), Cape Town (legislative) and Pretoria (administrative) – Johannesburg does house the Constitutional Court – South Africa’s highest court.

Mandela Bridge
Nelson Mandela Bridge – photo Chris Kirchhoff,

Founded in the wake of the 1800s gold rush, Johannesburg is the economic and financial hub of South Africa and the location of many multinational companies. Though not a traditional tourism destination, it has many appealing attractions and is the gateway to other parts of South Africa and the rest of the continent.

Located on the eastern plateau area of South Africa known as the Highveld, it has a sub–tropical highland climate and enjoys dry, sunny weather with the exception of occasional late afternoon downpours in the summer months of October to April. Temperatures in Johannesburg are usually fairly mild due to the city’s high altitude, with the average maximum daytime temperature in January of 26 °C (79 °F), dropping to an average maximum of around 16 °C (61 °F) in June. Winter is the sunniest time of the year, with cool days and cold nights. Visit for more information.

For a snapshot of Johannesburg, take a trip on the Hop-on, Hop-off Red Bus. Or take the Combo Deal and visit Soweto.